Icon (Close Menu)

Spokane Nominates 4

The Diocese of Spokane has announced a four-member slate in the search for its ninth bishop. The Rt. Rev. James E. Waggoner, Jr., Bishop of Spokane since 2000, is retiring.

  • The Rev. Canon Lucinda Ashby, canon to the ordinary in the Diocese of Idaho
  • The Ven. Christopher Athan Pappas, archdeacon for congregational development, Anglican Diocese of Edmonton, Alberta
  • The Rev. Canon Gretchen M. Rehberg, rector of the Church of the Nativity, Lewiston, Idaho, in the Diocese of Spokane
  • The Rev. Canon Neysa Ellgren Shepley, canon to the ordinary in the Diocese of Oregon

The diocese will accept any nominations by petition for the next two weeks. The election is scheduled during Spokane’s 52nd diocesan convention, Oct. 14-16.


Top headlines. Every Friday.



Most Recent

General Convention in Photos, June 25

All photos by Asher Imtiaz, on assignment for TLC

Ayala Harris Handily Wins Re-Election as PHoD

The election was the first time in decades that a president of the House of Deputies faced opposition when running for re-election.

Nominating Committee Presents the PB Slate

Bishop Mark Lattime: “We were a community that was beyond ourselves. We needed to be in discernment with the whole church.”

Bishop Hunn Calls for Church Culture Change

“I don’t think good leaders stop every two years to ask if they’re being effective,” Bishop Hunn said.