Icon (Close Menu)

Historians Elect a President

The Historical Society of the Episcopal Church has elected the Rev. Robyn M. Neville as president for a one-year term.

Neville is the chaplain at St. Mark’s School in Fort Lauderdale and a theological educator in the Diocese of Southeast Florida. Her publications include a contribution to the Wiley-Blackwell Companion to the Anglican Communion (2013) and two chapters on the Eucharist in medieval Ireland for the anthology Treasures of Irish Christianity: People and Places, Images and Texts (Veritas, 2012).

She was ordained to the priesthood in the Diocese of Virginia in 2003, and has held positions as a visiting instructor of church history at Emory University and a professor of church history at General Theological Seminary. She completed an MDiv at Virginia Theological Seminary and a ThM at Harvard Divinity School. She has undertaken doctoral work at Emory University in church history.

Neville has served HSEC previously as a board member and chairwoman of the grants committee.

She succeeds the Rev. Robert Prichard, professor of church history at Virginia Theological Seminary, president of HSEC from 2011 to 2016. Prichard continues on the board as second vice president.

The Historical Society of the Episcopal Church was founded in Philadelphia in 1910. Its mission is “the preservation of the particular heritage of the Episcopal Church and its antecedents in order that the Church may be served in its mission of proclaiming Christ crucified and risen, and in its servanthood in the world.”

HSEC publishes the quarterly journal Anglican and Episcopal History and a newsletter, The Historiographer, in collaboration with National Episcopal Historians and Archivists.


Top headlines. Every Friday.



Most Recent

VP Forum: Rules of Order & the Church’s Future

Three nominees are seeking to succeed Rachel Taber-Hamilton, who is stepping down as vice president of the House of Deputies to run for president

Title IV, Transparency, and Trust

Living into our disciplinary rules must always answer this question: “What does faithfulness to Jesus look like in this moment?”

St. Andrew’s Seminary Thrives in the Philippines

Gloria Mapangdol, the first woman to serve as dean of St. Andrew’s, leads the Anglican Seminary Deans Network Asia-Pacific.

PB Nominees Embody 5 Visions of Ministry

The Rev. Tom Sramek Jr. has gathered this information from online research. The House of Bishops will elect the 28th Presiding Bishop on June 26.