Icon (Close Menu)

Nominations Commission Review

Adapted from a Church of England release

The Archbishops of Canterbury and York have commissioned a theological review [PDF] of the Crown Nominations Commission’s work.

The group will be chaired by Professor Oliver O’Donovan, FBA, and its other members are:

  • Professor Sarah Coakley, Norris-Hulse Professor of Divinity, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Tom Greggs, Marischal Professor of Divinity, University of Aberdeen
  • The Most Rev. Josiah Idowu-Fearon, Secretary General of the Anglican Communion
  • Professor Morwenna Ludlow, professor of Christian history and theology, University of Exeter
  • Father Thomas Seville, CR, of the Faith and Order Commission
  • The Rev. Jennifer Strawbridge, associate professor of New Testament Studies, University of Oxford
  • The Rev. Canon James Walters, chaplain and senior lecturer, London School of Economics

The commission has been very active in recent years, and the church expects fewer vacant sees in the near future. The focus of the group will be to provide a theological framework for the commission as it discharges its responsibilities and to make any recommendations on procedures. The group will invite a number of people to meet with it and will receive written submissions.

The group has committed to producing a report that will be shared with General Synod in 2018.

More information about the Crown Nominations Commission


Top headlines. Every Friday.



Most Recent

GSFA Meets with Coptic Pope, Elects New Leaders

Delegates also visited a historical museum, library, and baptistry on the grounds of the papal compound.

GSFA Discusses Wartime Suffering, Sexuality

Delegates to the First Assembly of the Global South Fellowship of Anglicans (GSFA) heard from the Episcopal Church...

People & Places, June 14

Appointments across the Episcopal Church

Title IV Charges Revealed as PB Election Nears

The church released information about disciplinary complaints involving three of the five candidates