Archbishop Honors 35

The Archbishop of Canterbury honored 35 people from around the world in a ceremony at Lambeth Palace ceremony June 9. Archbishop Justin Welby presented the awards, which recognize outstanding service in different fields.

Recipients included religious, political, and community leaders, musicians, and others from Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East.

♦ ♦ ♦

The Lambeth Cross for Ecumenism

  • Agnes Abuom, a member of the Anglican Church of Kenya, the first woman moderator and first African moderator in the history of the World Council of Churches
  • The Rev. John Glass, general superintendent of Elim Pentecostal Church from 1999 to 2016
  • Professor Peter Howdle, emeritus professor of clinical medicine at the University of Leeds and former vice president of the Methodist Conference
  • The Most Rev. Antje Jackelén, Archbishop of Uppsala and Sweden
  • Kallistos Ware, Metropolitan of Diokleia

The Canterbury Cross for Services to the Church of England

  • Canon Peter Bruinvels, former MP for Leicester East, who has served the Church of England at parish, deanery, diocesan, and national levels
  • Paul Dillingham, who has taught English language and culture, translated Finnish books and program notes into English, written textbooks, and served as organist at the Anglican Church of St. Nicholas in Helsinki for more than 40 years
  • Sir William Fittall, General Secretary of the Archbishops’ Council from 2002 to 2015
  • Jane Kennedy, who helped preserve the cathedrals of Christ Church, Oxford; Ely; and Newcastle
  • The Rev. Canon George Lings, former director of Church Army’s Research Unit and author of Encounters on the Edge
  • The Rt. Hon. Sir John Mummery, first President of Tribunals and chairman of the Clergy Discipline Commission
  • The Rev. Canon John Rees, registrar of the Canterbury Province and legal adviser to the Anglican Consultative Council
  • Sir Andreas Whittam Smith, former First Estates Commissioner of the Church of England

The Cross of St Augustine for Services to the Anglican Communion

  • Sally Thompson, founding coordinator International Anglican Family Network

The Alphege Award for Evangelism and Witness

  • Philip Fletcher, chairman of the Mission and Public Affairs Council
  • The Rev. Bob Hopkins and Mary Hopkins, leaders of Anglican Church Planting Initiatives for 19 years

The Dunstan Award for Prayer and the Religious Life

  • Abbot Stuart Burns of Mucknell Abbey
  • The Rev. Canon Adrian Chatfield, director of the Simeon Centre at Ridley Hall, Cambridge, from 2007 to 2016

The Hubert Walter Award for Reconciliation and Interfaith Cooperation

  • The Most Rev. Samuel Azariah, who served as moderator of the Church of Pakistan from 1997 to 2002 and again from 2009 to 2017
  • Jane Clements, former director of programs at the Council of Christians and Jews and former director of the Forum for Discussion of Israel and Palestine
  • The Rt. Rev. Tabani Paride Kenyi, bishop emeritus in the Roman Catholic Diocese of Torit and cofounder of the New Sudan Council of Churches
  • The Rt. Rev. Bill Musk, former area bishop within the diocese of Egypt and the author of five books on Islam

The Lanfranc Award for Education and Scholarship

  • Zoë Bennett, course leader for theology and director of postgraduate studies for the faculty of arts, law and social sciences at Anglia Ruskin University
  • The Rev. Jeremy Morris, master of Trinity Hall, Cambridge
  • Haifa Najjar, a senator in the Jordanian Parliament and a member of the King Abdullah Fund for Development Board of Trustees
  • Colin Podmore, former clerk to the Church of England’s General Synod and director of Forward in Faith

The Langton Award for Community Service

  • The Rev. Joan Ashton, coordinator of chaplaincy services at Rotherham General Hospital
  • The Rt. Hon. Frank Field, Member of Parliament for Birkenhead since 1979, who has declared his parliamentary interests as poverty, income redistribution, church affairs
  • Suhaila Tarazi, director of Al Ahli Arab Hospital in Gaza

The Thomas Cranmer Award for Worship

  • Ralph Allwood, director of music at Eton College for 26 years and founder of Eton Choral Courses.
  • Vicky Beeching, a Christian singer-songwriter, writer, broadcaster, and advocate for LGBT concerns
  • Paul Hale, rector chori and cathedral organist at Southwell Minster
  • Anne Harrison, music coordinator at St. John’s College with Cranmer Hall, who led the editorial group for Sing Praise (2010) and was a member of the editorial team for Ancient and Modern (2013)
  • The Rev. Timothy Hughes, vicar of St Luke’s, Gas Street, Birmingham, who leads Worship Central, an international worship training and resource center
  • Stuart Townend, songwriter and worship leader at Church of Christ the King, Brighton

Read the rest. 2017-Citations-Alphabetical


Online Archives