Group Ready for Church Plants

Top (from left): The Rev. Tom Brackett • The Rev. Michael Michie • The Rev. Canon Janet Waggoner • The Rev. Canon Stephanie Spellers • The Rev. Zack Nyein • Bishop George Sumner, Jr. • The Rev. Katie Nakamura Rengers

Bottom (from left): The Rev. Canon Frank Logue • The Rev. Valerie Bailey Fischer • The Rev. Jane Gerdsen • Erendira Jimenez-Pike •  The Rev. Canon Jesús Reyes • The Rev. Alex Montes Vela • The Rev. David Perkins

Not pictured: The Rev. Canon Tanya Wallace, the Most Rev. Michael Curry, and the Rev. Gay Clark Jennings


Adapted from the Office of Public Affairs

The General Convention Advisory Group on Church Planting has announced a series of initiatives.

The advisory group was established through Resolution D005 of the 78th General Convention in July, which called for creating “a church-wide network for planting congregations, training and recruiting planters; and establishing new congregations each triennium” (see full text).

The advisory group is working closely with Latino Ministries to support and develop new Spanish-speaking and bilingual congregations. The group has been charged with distributing further funding for Missional Enterprise Zones.

“We are building a new community,” said the Rev. Zack Nyein, a member of the advisory group. “We are developing a community of church planters and those interested in the work of church planting.”

Information on the Church Planting initiative is here.

The advisory group has announced a design contest for a new logo to depict church planting for the Episcopal Church.

“We invite artists and dreamers from throughout the Episcopal Church to participate in the visioning process,” Erendira Jimenez-Pike said. “A $500 cash prize will be awarded to the most inspiring title and logo for a renewed church planting movement across the church.”

Submission instructions and image specifics are here. Deadline is May 1. For more information, contact

Members of the Advisory Group and their dioceses are:

  • The Rev. Jane Gerdsen, chairwoman, Southern Ohio
  • The Rev. Valerie Bailey Fischer, Newark
  • Erendira Jimenez-Pike, Kentucky
  • The Rev. Michael Michie, Dallas
  • The Rev. Alex Montes Vela, Texas
  • The Rev. Katie Nakamura Rengers, Alabama
  • The Rev. Zachary Nyein, East Tennessee
  • The Rev. David Perkins, Lexington
  • The Rev. Canon Jesús Reyes, El Camino Real
  • Bishop George Sumner, Jr., Dallas
  • The Rev. Canon Janet Waggoner, Fort Worth
  • The Rev. Canon Frank Logue of Georgia and the Rev. Canon Tanya Wallace of Western Massachusetts are liaisons from Executive Council
  • Presiding Bishop Michael Curry and the Rev. Gay Clark Jennings, president of the House of Deputies, are ex officio members
  • The Rev. Tom Brackett, staff liaison
  • The Rev. Stephanie Spellers, staff consultant

Contact | Covenant | Facebook | RSS | Subscribe | Twitter


Online Archives