The Learning Commons is on the third floor of Chicago Theological Seminary.

Adapted from a Bexley Seabury announcement

Bexley Seabury will operate from a single site at Chicago Theological Seminary (“Not Radical — Just Early”) as of July. Beginning with the Fall 2016 term, Bexley Seabury will offer its Doctor of Ministry degree and Anglican Studies and Lifelong Learning programs from the eco-friendly, state-of-the-art CTS facility at 1407 East 60th Street.

Pending accrediting and state licensing approvals, Bexley Seabury also plans to offer its Master of Divinity degree from the CTS campus. Bexley Seabury’s consolidation in a single location at CTS will give both Bexley Seabury and CTS students increased access to innovative online and hybrid courses, and will open the door to the two seminaries collaborating on new course offerings and other initiatives.

Bexley Seabury’s move to Hyde Park and Woodlawn will make it easier for its students to take advantage of long-standing cross-registration privileges for courses offered by member schools in the Association of Chicago Theological Schools (ACTS), of which Bexley Seabury and CTS are founding members.

Bexley Seabury students will enjoy greater access to Chicago Theological Seminary courses as well as the academic programming offered by its four theological centers:

  • The Center for the Study of Black Faith and Life
  • The LGBTQ Studies Center
  • The Center for Jewish, Christian & Islamic Studies
  • The Center for the Study of Korean Christianity

CTS, affiliated with the United Church of Christ, serves many different Christian and non-Christian faith communities by preparing students to be the next generation of religious leadership. Founded in 1855, CTS promotes a progressive philosophy and strives to be at the forefront of religious scholarship; interreligious, race, and gender dialogue; and transformative leadership.

Hyde Park and Woodlawn are home to the University of Chicago Divinity School (interreligious) and four members of the Association of Chicago Theological Schools (ACTS):

  • Catholic Theological Union (Roman Catholic)
  • Chicago Theological Seminary (United Church of Christ)
  • Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago (Evangelical Lutheran Church in America)
  • McCormick Theological Seminary (Presbyterian Church USA)

ACTS also incorporates schools in other Chicago neighborhoods and neighboring counties:

  • Bexley Seabury (currently at ELCA headquarters and Columbus, Ohio)
  • Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary
  • Meadville Lombard Theological School
  • Mundelein Seminary
  • Northern Seminary
  • North Park Theological Seminary
  • Trinity Evangelical Divinity School

CTS graduates, students, faculty and staff have been advocates for justice and mercy since the days of the Underground Railroad. The CTS student body represents more than 40 different faith traditions, perspectives, and denominations. CTS is fully accredited to offer its Master of Divinity degree both in the classroom and online.

“Bexley Seabury and Chicago Theological Seminary have been training church leaders in the Midwest since the mid-1800s, and in association in metropolitan Chicago, through ACTS, since 1984,” said the Rt. Rev. W. Michie Klusmeyer, bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of West Virginia and chairman of the board. “Both seminaries share a commitment to interfaith experience as a key component for the formation of lay leaders, deacons, and priests to better equip them to lead change in the church and in the world. Clearly, this is where Bexley Seabury is called to be for the next phase of its service to the church.”

“Our consolidation at CTS and our newly defined association, including use of CTS’ proven online teaching technologies, will make an Episcopal theological education more accessible to students both throughout the Midwest and nationally, and help us live more fully into Bexley Seabury’s established commitment to formation in an ecumenical setting,” said the Rev. Roger Ferlo, president of Bexley Seabury. “We look forward to contributing to the rich mix of belief traditions and world perspectives that enrich CTS and the surrounding communities.”

“Like Bexley Seabury, Chicago Theological Seminary has educated future leaders for a multitude of ministries for more than 160 years, always in dialogue with other faith communities,” said the Rev. Alice Hunt, president of CTS. “Our commitment to building an inclusive and diverse community is reflected in our faculty, and in our curriculum. We are delighted at the many learning opportunities and experiences that will come from this multi-faceted association with Bexley Seabury.”

Bexley Seabury students, faculty, and staff will maintain full access to the United Library at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary in Evanston, as well access to all other ACTS member school libraries. The move will give Bexley Seabury students full access to the CTS Learning Commons, a collection of more than 45,000 volumes that is strong in classical theological subject areas and offers substantial resources in African-American religion and spirituality, women’s studies, gay and lesbian studies, and Jewish-Christian studies.

Beginning in September, Bexley Seabury students will have new housing options for January and June residency periods and during hybrid intensives throughout the year. Students will be able to book stays at Catholic Theological Union or Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago student housing, each approximately one mile from CTS.

Contact | Covenant | Facebook | RSS | Subscribe | Twitter