Colleagues Honor Father Agnew

Adapted from reports by National Episcopal Historians and Archivists

The Rev. Christopher M. Agnew has received the Canon John W. Davis Award from National Episcopal Historians and Archivists. NEHA presented the award during its annual meeting June 17-19 in Salt Lake City.

The award is named for its first recipient, Canon John W. Davis, NEHA’s longtime president. It pays tribute to outstanding contributions a member of NEHA has made to the organization or to the fields of history and archives in the Episcopal Church.

Agnew, past president of NEHA and former board member of the Historical Society of the Episcopal Church, is ecumenical officer of the Diocese of Virginia and ecumenical coordinator of Province 3.

NEHA bestowed its first Fish Award this year. The group plans to give the award annually in memory of Laurence D. Fish, one of NEHA’s founders and longtime archivist for the Diocese of New Jersey. The Fish Award recognizes a book of parish history. This year’s winner is St. Peter’s Church: Faith in Action for 250 Years (Temple University Press, 2011) by Cordelia Frances Biddle, Elizabeth S. Browne, Alan J. Heavens, and Charles P. Peitz.

NEHA elected three new board members:

  • Matt Carmichael, the Diocese of Eastern Oregon’s archivist and historiographer
  • Amy Cunningham, archivist for Nashotah House Theological Seminary
  • Peter Williams of the Diocese of Southern Ohio, author of several books, including Popular Religion in America and Houses of God: Region, Religion and Architecture in the United States.

NEHA’s board has elected Susan Stonesifer its president. Phillip Ayers agreed to remain as board vice president and Elizabeth Allison agreed to remain as board secretary. The board regretfully accepted the resignation of Michael Strock and appointed Matthew Payne to fill Strock’s unexpired term, and elected him treasurer.

Image by cohdra, via morgueFile


Online Archives