women in the episcopate

Wednesday, December 17, 2014 - 6:53am

Libby Lane will serve as a suffragan bishop for Stockport in the Diocese of Chester.

Monday, November 24, 2014 - 2:00pm

Archbishop Justin Welby: “It has taken a very long time but the way is now open.”

Wednesday, October 29, 2014 - 5:39am

Rescuing Breadth and Diversity in England • By Colin Podmore

Wednesday, August 13, 2014 - 1:51pm

Two bishops from the United States will visit Wales to speak from their experience as women elected to the episcopate.

Tuesday, July 15, 2014 - 6:29am

By John Martin • An advocate of women’s ordination praises an Anglo-Catholic layman’s sacrificial remarks.

Thursday, July 11, 2013 - 8:28am

By John Martin • No substantial decisions emerge from General Synod’s summer session.

Monday, June 24, 2013 - 8:15am

By Colin Podmore
I fight to keep the church broad and tolerant, to enable traditional Christians not just to remain but to flourish.

Tuesday, November 20, 2012 - 4:15pm

By John Martin
The Church of England’s House of Bishops will meet in emergency session early Wednesday to consider next steps on women in the episcopate.

Tuesday, July 17, 2012 - 10:03am

By John Martin
After the July sessions of its General Synod in York the Church of England remains in limbo on women in the episcopate.

Monday, May 21, 2012 - 4:53pm

The House of Bishops of the Church of England today concluded its consideration of the draft legislation to enable women to be consecrated as bishops. It agreed that the legislation should be returned to the General Synod for final approval.