lectionary | The Living Church

lectionary

Image: Resurrection Chapel, National Cathedral, D.C., by Tim Evanson/Flickr • http://bit.ly/2p8Orst
Sunday, April 30, 2017 - 5:27am

Walking out from death’s tomb, stepping onto the footpath to Emmaus, Jesus seems to slip by.

Fr. Lawrence Lew, OP/Flickr • http://bit.ly/2pqNwmV
Sunday, April 23, 2017 - 4:35am

The wounds remain in the risen body of Christ: true resurrection for the long road of trial, doubt, and suffering.

Sunday, April 16, 2017 - 12:00am

Today we say and proclaim and sing the resurrection of Christ.

jareed/Flickr • http://bit.ly/2nzwyS2
Sunday, April 9, 2017 - 5:27am

The violence against Jesus is not the act of one person or group.

mlhradio/Flickr • http://bit.ly/2oo5GEI
Sunday, April 2, 2017 - 6:27am

Prayer includes deep pain, a groan issued from the hard wood of a bloody cross.

“blindness” by nelio filipe/Flickr • http://bit.ly/2mLrQAe
Sunday, March 26, 2017 - 5:27am

Bible stories are often ragged and perplexing, inspiring and disturbing. The reader must slow down and think.

Christ and the Woman of Samaria: An Arched Print by Rembrandt Los Angeles County Museum of Art • http://bit.ly/2mh8AcJ
Sunday, March 19, 2017 - 5:27am

Jesus boldly breaks down the dividing wall and asks for aid from an alien woman.

Fr. Lawrence Lew, OP/Flickr • http://bit.ly/2msxzOd
Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 5:27am

God calls out to the ungodly, gives life to the dead, and calls into existence the things that do not exist.

“After the Fall of man,” part of the painting “Garden of Eden” by Adi Holzer/Wikimedia Commons • http://bit.ly/2lZTYT6
Saturday, March 4, 2017 - 5:27am

Every generation feels an aching loss of original innocence and yet chooses that loss again.

Ted/Flickr • http://bit.ly/2m3NvUr
Sunday, February 26, 2017 - 5:27am

The Son of the Father is the sun of righteousness, transcendent radiance, a power in but not of this world.