history

Friday, May 22, 2015 - 9:12am

“Say the Mass, bless the people, and do it over and over again.”

Image of VTS Taken between 1861 and 1869, courtesy Library of Congress • http://is.gd/hLbpc0
Thursday, February 19, 2015 - 10:26am

Robert W. Prichard, Adrienne Terrell Washington will discuss the Civil War role of Virginia Theological Seminary.

Friday, January 23, 2015 - 1:43pm

From Buffalo Bill to Fr. Kano at Church of Our Savior in North Platte, Nebraska

Image by Lothar Wolleh [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons • http://goo.gl/4nEdy1
Monday, October 6, 2014 - 1:43pm

Review by Paul Avis • In 2014, the commemorations of Vatican II are still in full swing. Perhaps “contestations” would be more apt.

Image by Ron Cogswell, via Flickr • https://flic.kr/p/ddqQfh
Friday, September 26, 2014 - 9:13am

Speakers at Bruton Parish will include the Presiding Bishop, the Bishop of London, and the Bishop of North Carolina.

Friday, May 16, 2014 - 3:08pm

The neo-Gothic St. John’s Cathedral is one of the oldest churches in all of Hong Kong.

Tuesday, April 1, 2014 - 6:56am

Hannah Matis will join the faculty of Virginia Theological Seminary August 1 as assistant professor of church history.

Tuesday, January 14, 2014 - 7:41am

Review by Leander S. Harding • D.G. Hart points out that non-Lutheran Reformed theology was a movement before Calvin became a Protestant.

Monday, December 16, 2013 - 9:24am

By Christopher Wells • “I often think of the history of The Living Church and its old mission, articulated with commendable clarity 135 years ago and by subsequent keepers of the flame.”

Thursday, July 4, 2013 - 9:10am

By Worth E. “Woody” Norman, Jr.
Published online in honor of Independence Day and the sesquicentennial of Civil War battles.