Features

Initiation into Consumerism

  • Thursday, October 3, 2013

By Mark F.M. Clavier • Even while consumerism claims to promote individuality, it compels conformity through the virtual and imaginary worlds it creates.

Back to the Earth

  • Tuesday, October 1, 2013

By G. Jeffrey MacDonald • Seminarian Ragan Sutterfield sees an agrarian resurgence unfolding across the nation.

Backpack Hospitality

  • Wednesday, September 25, 2013

By G. Jeffrey MacDonald • Blessing of the Backpacks is a lighthearted way for young Episcopalians to integrate faith with school life.

Laying Down Roots

  • Tuesday, September 24, 2013

The Rev. Lisa G. Fishbeck: “We wanted to offer hospitality throughout the week.”

Straight into Troy

  • Tuesday, September 17, 2013

By G. Jeffrey MacDonald • Clerical collars signal to wary, mostly African American neighbors that two recently ordained young white women might be trustworthy.

Stability in the Sacrament

  • Tuesday, September 10, 2013

By G. Jeffrey MacDonald • Katresia Staggs: “We don’t need any of this to worship. But we have the basics of something that is stable for people.”

Homer and Hospitality

  • Friday, September 6, 2013

By Carla Arnell • The host’s special obligations to a stranger are memorably illustrated in a number of episodes in The Odyssey.

Prepare the Feast

  • Tuesday, September 3, 2013

By Jason Ingalls and Joseph Wolyniak • The Scholar-Priest Initiative strives to reconnect academic theology to its ecclesial roots.

Civil War, Church, and State

  • Thursday, July 4, 2013

By Worth E. “Woody” Norman, Jr.
Published online in honor of Independence Day and the sesquicentennial of Civil War battles.

From Flat Andy to Flat Patron

  • Friday, June 14, 2013

How could Flat Saints help our congregations engage in mission and ministry … and bring a little fun to our lives?

Pages