Essays & Reviews

Sunday, April 12, 2015 - 5:10pm
The “war of science and religion” is fatuous and enervating.
Thursday, April 9, 2015 - 12:00am
Fr. John E. Owens celebrated students’ marriages, baptized their children, and prayed for them every day.
Friday, March 27, 2015 - 10:08am
Matthew A. Gunter asks: Are we any less self-indulgent than our non-Christian neighbors?
Monday, March 23, 2015 - 10:06am
Red Flamboyant depicts Pham Thi Hue, who runs a support group for HIV-positive women.
Image: Mark Rylance plays the mild-mannered Thomas Cromwell of Wolf Hall. • Masterpiece photo
Friday, March 20, 2015 - 10:25am
Hilary Mantel’s Thomas Cromwell is a mild-mannered family man who teaches his young daughters Latin.
Tuesday, March 17, 2015 - 8:41am
Eight ways to improve your sermons.
Friday, March 13, 2015 - 1:50pm
Mark A. Michael writes: “When you do not know how else to pray, there is always the Litany.”
Thursday, March 12, 2015 - 5:14pm
Twenty Minutes with Slow Church’s Fathers
Tuesday, March 10, 2015 - 10:19am
Something is required of us before we participate in Holy Communion.
Friday, February 27, 2015 - 1:04pm
Steven R. Ford reports: Bleak atheism is everyday reality for many Albanians.