Essays & Reviews

Wednesday, December 11, 2013 - 7:44am

Interview by By Richard J. Mammana, Jr. • The prayer book provides a template for a robust liturgical spirituality that is open, accessible, and possible.

Sunday, December 8, 2013 - 9:32am

By John W. de Gruchy • Nelson Mandela is an icon of opposing evil, enduring suffering, overcoming bitterness, expressing forgiveness.

Thursday, December 5, 2013 - 7:30am

By Leonard Freeman • Since retiring, I’m not exhausted at having just finished a dozen other services this week.

Wednesday, December 4, 2013 - 12:10pm

By Andrew Goddard • This explosive cocktail will likely result in division or at least differentiation among Anglicans in England as it has in North America.

Monday, December 2, 2013 - 8:58am

By Ephraim Radner • “Few meetings are the result of chance.” — Christian de Chergé, Trappist monk, who was martyred in 1996.

Tuesday, November 26, 2013 - 10:07am

By Dennis Raverty • What is surprising, given Marc Chagall’s Jewish background and faith, is the number of Christian themes that emerge in his work.

Friday, November 22, 2013 - 4:52am

“I’ve grown attached to reading 2 Cor. 13:14 through the lens of three images, apportioning its triune blessing among them.”

Thursday, November 21, 2013 - 10:34am

Review by Charles R. Henery • “After I’ve been dead five years, no one will read anything I’ve written.” C.S. Lewis was quite wrong.

Photo: Detail of St. Gregorius Nyssenus, by Bartolozzi
Friday, November 15, 2013 - 10:25am

We may not think of ourselves as idolaters. But lack of awareness is no adequate assurance that other deities haven’t set up shop in our lives.

Wednesday, November 13, 2013 - 1:46pm

By Daniel Muth • If God is good, how can there be evil? To many a modern mind, it is the great atheist “gotcha!”

Pages