Essays & Reviews

Chagall’s Midrash

  • Tuesday, November 26, 2013

By Dennis Raverty • What is surprising, given Marc Chagall’s Jewish background and faith, is the number of Christian themes that emerge in his work.

Trinitarian palimpsest

  • Friday, November 22, 2013

“I’ve grown attached to reading 2 Cor. 13:14 through the lens of three images, apportioning its triune blessing among them.”

Due Credit for Inklings

  • Thursday, November 21, 2013

Review by Charles R. Henery • “After I’ve been dead five years, no one will read anything I’ve written.” C.S. Lewis was quite wrong.

Everyday Idolatry

  • Friday, November 15, 2013

We may not think of ourselves as idolaters. But lack of awareness is no adequate assurance that other deities haven’t set up shop in our lives.

Life in a Fallen World

  • Wednesday, November 13, 2013

By Daniel Muth • If God is good, how can there be evil? To many a modern mind, it is the great atheist “gotcha!”

Morality, Theology, and Reform

  • Friday, November 8, 2013

By Daniel A. Westberg • Health is a self-evident good, with clear benefits for both the individual and the whole of society.

Icons

  • Wednesday, November 6, 2013

By S.L. Woodford • “I can’t believe I lost my mother this morning,” I type.

Superman and Moral Pedagogy

  • Friday, November 1, 2013

Review by Benjamin M. Guyer • What happens when we strip reproduction of its majesty and mystery?

Obstacles to Reform

  • Thursday, October 31, 2013

By Daniel A. Westberg • In five eras of the last century a national health program for Americans was proposed with genuine hope for reform.

Elegance in Cape Cod

  • Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Review by David A. Kalvelage • A stunning book with more than 200 impressive photographs tells the story of the Church of the Transfiguration.

Pages