Essays & Reviews

Tuesday, February 25, 2014 - 7:21am

Review by Amy Lepine Peterson • For Christians the memoir’s tendency to find the arc of redemption in a single life is nothing new.

Friday, February 14, 2014 - 12:29pm

The name of Oliver Sherman Prescott has long been familiar to students of the Ritualist Movement in 19th-century American Anglo-Catholicism.

Thursday, February 13, 2014 - 1:22pm

Review by Mother Miriam • Sister Amy Hereford is well qualified to evaluate life since Vatican II.

Friday, February 7, 2014 - 12:28pm

Review by Leonard Freeman • The main characters in American Hustle are not saints, but they could be first cousins of Abraham and Sarah, or Rahab.

Thursday, February 6, 2014 - 8:53am

Review by Joseph Goldkamp • Stephen Dykes Bower worked in the Gothic Revival vernacular favored at the end of the 19th century in Britain.

Tuesday, January 28, 2014 - 2:18pm

By Federico Serra-Lima • On December 6, 1273, St. Thomas Aquinas put down his pen, never to pick it up again.

Friday, January 17, 2014 - 11:28am

By Robert W. Jenson • Cardinal Ratzinger used to say that overcoming the Church’s divisions would require a great intervention of the Spirit.

Wednesday, January 15, 2014 - 3:05pm

Review by Joseph L. Mangina • Two authors find the postliberal turn in theology worthy of sustained attention.

Tuesday, January 14, 2014 - 7:41am

Review by Leander S. Harding • D.G. Hart points out that non-Lutheran Reformed theology was a movement before Calvin became a Protestant.

Image: St. Paul by Masaccio [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons • http://goo.gl/I1eIZB
Thursday, January 9, 2014 - 7:59am

By Sarah Marie Gresser • When plans change my little brother, Peter, smiles and says, “Oh, I don’t mind it.”

Pages