Essays & Reviews

Thursday, April 11, 2013 - 11:14am
By Christopher Wells Second in a series: If the Episcopal Church preserves diversity it will not be by accident but by deliberate choice of the majority party.
Monday, April 8, 2013 - 2:57pm
By George Sumner The radical structural change foretold in the Pusey Report of 1967 is upon us.
Friday, April 5, 2013 - 8:00am
By Christopher Wells Theological conservatives take a revealed body of texts as normative, across time and space.
Friday, March 29, 2013 - 2:40pm
By Patrick T. Twomey Late second-century Christianity offers a dramatic display of what prayer cannot do, and a sign also of what it can do.
Wednesday, March 20, 2013 - 6:29am
Yair Rosenberg writes that the theocratic impulse appears across the political spectrum.
Monday, March 18, 2013 - 9:59am
Review by Jonathan Mitchican The future of the Church is not to be found in our efforts to make it more relevant or attractive.
Image by Jjock86 (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons (
Friday, March 15, 2013 - 7:44am
Review by Jon Carlson The annual Burning Man festival in the Nevada desert provides a microcosm through which to contemplate our culture.
Thursday, March 14, 2013 - 12:07pm
By Daniel H. Martins We opted to cut our losses and live to fight another day.
Monday, March 11, 2013 - 2:16pm
A recent accord of conciliation fits well into a larger and disturbing pattern of the Episcopal Church’s current leadership.
Justice, by Edward Onslow Ford [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons (
Monday, March 11, 2013 - 6:07am
Bishop Daniel Martins writes: “We feel manipulated and victimized. We are nowhere near happy about this outcome.”