Essays & Reviews

Wednesday, September 26, 2012 - 7:00am

By A.K.M. Adam
After any protracted silence on the “sensational news about Jesus” front, another shattering announcement is right around the corner.

Wednesday, August 29, 2012 - 2:36pm

Mission and missionary identity are closer to the spotlight in U.S. presidential politics than they’ve been in a long time.

Tuesday, August 28, 2012 - 7:51am

By Jake Dell
Church advertising is no more than evangelism in print.

Friday, August 24, 2012 - 11:59am

By Richard Mammana, Jr.
Harriet Starr Cannon’s decision to consecrate her life completely to God came in the wake of a personal tragedy.

Wednesday, August 22, 2012 - 1:49pm

By Mark Chapman
Archbishop Williams has carried the burdens of conflict, and has shown a huge and sometimes costly commitment to unity.

Monday, August 13, 2012 - 3:31pm

The Very Rev. John Hall’s new book on the religious life of Queen Elizabeth as connected with Westminster Abbey is especially welcome.

Friday, August 10, 2012 - 6:25am

By Nathaniel W. Pierce
“Fixing” the problem always starts with “fixing” ourselves.

Monday, July 30, 2012 - 5:39am

By Leonard Finn
Charles Simeon essentially seeks an anti-dogmatic dogmatics, a mode of doing theology, which is “Scriptural, in contradistinction to the systematic.

Friday, July 27, 2012 - 9:40am

By Christopher Wells
The leaders of the Episcopal Church now face a “Mauricean” moment, in which the nature and extent of our diversity will be decided.

Friday, July 20, 2012 - 6:48am

Review by John C. Bauerschmidt
Eamon Duffy’s new book does a good job of distilling two millennia of history into a short and manageable span.

Pages