Essays & Reviews

The Rt. Rev. Anne Elliott Hodges-Copple offers the blessing at her ordination and consecration June 15 at the historic Duke University Chapel in Durham. Richard Schori/ENS
Tuesday, June 25, 2013 - 7:49am

By John Kenneth Gibson
Any worship experience today, virtually or in person, contends with the digiverse.

Monday, June 24, 2013 - 8:15am

By Colin Podmore
I fight to keep the church broad and tolerant, to enable traditional Christians not just to remain but to flourish.

Friday, June 21, 2013 - 7:28am

Review by Leonard Freeman
We think we’re God, and we get into trouble because we resist wise instruction, even from robots.

Matt Cashore/University of Notre Dame photo
Wednesday, June 12, 2013 - 9:22am

By Michael Cover
For Cardinal Kasper, Vatican II is very much still in its initial stages of reception.

Friday, June 7, 2013 - 5:29am

Review by Wesley Hill • James V. Brownson argues that gender complementarity is nowhere “explicitly portrayed or discussed” in Scripture.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 - 10:35am

Review by Gary G. Yerkey • This is an important book written not by some “dispassionate third person,” as the author puts it, but by a loving son.

Image: Dionysus by José de Ribera [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons (http://goo.gl/6z0jw)
Monday, June 3, 2013 - 6:45am

By G. Willcox Brown • Christ dies once for all, to bring about our flourishing by delivering us from slavery to our lusts.

Thursday, May 30, 2013 - 5:40am

By Christopher Wells
Meyer inspires in me a desire to love and trust the Lord more surely and devotedly.

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 - 7:59am

Theologian Andrew Goddard evaluates the Church of England’s Men and Women in Marriage.

Thursday, May 23, 2013 - 11:57am

“When one has faced down a shouting mob of enraged goddess worshipers, enduring one voluble fortune-teller is fairly simple.”

Pages