Essays & Reviews

Making Room for Conservatives

  • Friday, April 5, 2013

By Christopher Wells
Theological conservatives take a revealed body of texts as normative, across time and space.

Primitive Prayer

  • Friday, March 29, 2013

By Patrick T. Twomey
Late second-century Christianity offers a dramatic display of what prayer cannot do, and a sign also of what it can do.

Guns, Faith, State

  • Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Yair Rosenberg writes that the theocratic impulse appears across the political spectrum.

No Rescue Required

  • Monday, March 18, 2013

Review by Jonathan Mitchican
The future of the Church is not to be found in our efforts to make it more relevant or attractive.

Burners as Beloved Riff-Raff

  • Friday, March 15, 2013

Review by Jon Carlson
The annual Burning Man festival in the Nevada desert provides a microcosm through which to contemplate our culture.

Struck Down, But Not Destroyed

  • Thursday, March 14, 2013

By Daniel H. Martins
We opted to cut our losses and live to fight another day.

Opinion: Gross Misconduct

  • Monday, March 11, 2013

A recent accord of conciliation fits well into a larger and disturbing pattern of the Episcopal Church’s current leadership.

Opinion: Bizarre Conciliation

  • Monday, March 11, 2013

Bishop Daniel Martins writes: “We feel manipulated and victimized. We are nowhere near happy about this outcome.”

Gritty Comfort TV

  • Friday, March 8, 2013

Review by John Martin
A cast of nurses and of nuns who pray for patients and sing the Daily Office seemed hardly the stuff of a TV blockbuster.

Five Videos for Lent

  • Thursday, March 7, 2013

From W. David O. Taylor’s Diary of an Arts Pastor, where all five videos are embedded

Pages