Essays & Reviews

Wednesday, November 25, 2015 - 6:24am

Ten books for Advent and Christmas

Friday, November 6, 2015 - 9:42am

Brian d’Arcy James, a lifelong Roman Catholic, plays a reporter in ‘Spotlight.’

Image by James Chan/Pixabay, via Wikimedia Commons •
Thursday, October 22, 2015 - 2:50pm

Communal forms of prayer start to lose depth if they do not oscillate with solitary personal engagement with God.

Tuesday, October 20, 2015 - 9:34am

The stories in ‘Accidental Saints’ are at their core about one leader’s constant need for Jesus.

Tuesday, October 13, 2015 - 8:14am

The Trappistine Cistercian monastery of Vitorchiano has a unique modern history of growing numbers of Sisters.

Thursday, October 8, 2015 - 11:24am

The world’s primary Christian leader captivated our country with his large-hearted generosity.

Tuesday, October 6, 2015 - 4:46pm

Would the Anglican Communion — and our Compass Rose — smell as sweet if we were a “Federation” or “Association”?

Monday, September 21, 2015 - 8:09am

Everyone tends to blank out the sayings by Pope Francis that are uncomfortable. Resist the impulse.

Image: Queen Elizabeth II during a visit to the United States in 2007, via Wikimedia Commons •
Tuesday, September 8, 2015 - 2:06pm

The 63-year reign of Elizabeth II has probably been the greatest period of change in Britain’s history.

Thursday, September 3, 2015 - 8:10am

Titus Presler believes his beating was mild compared to the experiences of religious minorities in Pakistan.