devotions

Collect the Weeds First

  • Sunday, July 20, 2014

The Spirit of God, as we keep in step with him, is daily performing soul surgery on us.

The Gospel’s Germination Rate

  • Sunday, July 13, 2014

Jesus challenges us to be sure we are a field well cultivated, and to help the Church be the same.

Paradoxical Parables

  • Sunday, July 6, 2014

Jesus’ paradoxes reveal that motivation is more powerful than evidence for his hearers.

To Trust in a Lie

  • Sunday, June 29, 2014

Once Judah began listening to inauthentic prophets, discerning the true voice of God became more and more difficult.

Summer and Winter

  • Sunday, June 22, 2014

Persecution has come and gone for the body of Christ, much like the seasons’ variability.

Grace by Confessing Truth

  • Sunday, June 15, 2014

The collect of the day proclaims that God has given us “grace, by the confession of a true faith.”

The Oval Loop

  • Sunday, June 8, 2014

Christ travels to the bottom of our isolation, our humiliation, and our death. Then comes the ascent.

Listening when Others Pray

  • Sunday, June 1, 2014

When someone else prays aloud, what goes through your mind?

Philip Moments

  • Sunday, May 18, 2014

Perhaps we can imagine Jesus laughing at Philip in a loving way, rather than scolding him.

Knowing and Being Known

  • Sunday, May 11, 2014

Being a Christian has a great deal to do with growing more and more familiar with the voice of the shepherd.

Pages